Showing you the world from a different perspective

Bear Grylls or not so much?

fire

Have you ever watched Bear Grylls and seen the kind of stuff he does? Im not even going to talk about the food he eats let alone what he drinks when he cant find water.  Anyway I thought I could at least try one of the things he does on his show, and that was trying to light a fire with a flint and steel. So I purchased a magnesium flint and steel striker from Ebay and as soon as it came through the mail I went straight to the garden to give it a go.  1 minute later I had a fire going…..  Ha! 1 hour later more like. Its so hard for the sparks to catch onto the tinder (dry grass). In the end I grabbed a tissue and wow how quick it took then! I bet the boy scouts and people who go to summer camp are probably laughing right now. But the time was worth it. It kind of feels like I gained half of a achievement I guess.

This shot was taken shortly after I managed to cheat my way into lighting a fire. I then opened the shot up in Adobe Photoshop, added a black and white adjustment and masked out all colour but the flame itself.

Please leave a reply, your thoughts help me to improve!

